Spring has sprung!

By - April 20th, 2018

Spring has sprung! Check out the library’s expanding collection of gardening, sports, and cookbooks!

 

Succulents- Robin Stockwell

“Succulents are the ultimate easy-care plant: versatile, effortless to grow both indoors and outdoors, and drought tolerant. From Aloe and Agaves, to Senecio and Taciveria, this handbook by leading garden expert Robin Stockwell highlights 200 of the easiest, most useful, and gorgeous plants, and shares advice on care and cultivation. Readers will find inspiration for imaginative and exciting new ways to use succulents in striking garden designs, containers, vertical walls, and indoor arrangements, as well as step-by-step projects, such as living bouquets and terrarium ornaments.” (from the back cover)

Carrots Love Tomatoes- Louise Riotte

“Plant parsley and asparagus together and you’ll have more of each, but keep broccoli and tomato plants far apart if you want them to thrive. Utilize the natural properties of plants to nourish the soil, repel pests, and secure a greater harvest. With plenty of insightful advice and suggestions for planting schemes, Louise Riotte will inspire you to turn your garden into a naturally nurturing ecosystem.” (from the publisher’s website)

The Perfect Scoop- David Lebovitz

“This is the definitive book on frozen desserts. David has the most amazing recipes for homemade ice cream, plus lots of ideas for crunchy toppings, sweet mix-ins, and edible ‘vessels’ such as sugar cones, meringues, and cream puffs. I want to make them all!” –Ina Garten (from the back cover)

 

The Complete History of Cross-Country Running- Andrew Boyd Hutchinson

“Hutchinson… does a marvelous job documenting the lengthy history of cross-country running from the early 1800s, when the sport developed from “hare and hounds” or “paper chase” events in England to the present day, when groups are advocating that cross-country be reestablished as an Olympic event. This is a well-researched, informative tribute to cross-country running and belongs in most public-library sports collections. – Brenda Barrera, Booklist

The Away Game- Sebastian Abbott

“African teens vying to become pros in elite soccer leagues find their dreams turning to dust in this alternately hopeful and dispiriting sports saga… Abbot’s narrative features vivid profiles, engrossing play-by-play, and a sobering lesson: bad breaks and cold business calculations sometimes trump ability in the making of champions.” – Publisher’s Weekly

 

Look what’s new!

By - Systems Librarian October 6th, 2017

Look what’s new! New books on the new display in the main level lobby of Ohrstrom Library. Check it out and check something out today! #ohrstromlibrary #newbooks #bookdisplay #newbookdisplay #checkitout #iamsps

Look what’s new! New books on the new display in the main level lobby of Ohrstrom Library. Check it out and check something out today!

View in Instagram ⇒

Judging a Book by Its Cover

By - May 19th, 2017

Like great fashion, the books you read tell a lot about you. Here are a few that will look great as accessories with any spring outfit:

 

Amazing Fantastic Incredible: A Marvelous Memoir by  Stan Lee, Peter David and Colleen Doran
Touchstone 2015
Call Number: Graphic Novel L51

“In this gorgeously illustrated, full-color graphic memoir, Stan Lee—comic book legend and cocreator of Spider-Man, the X-Men, the Avengers, the Incredible Hulk, and a legion of other Marvel superheroes—shares his iconic legacy and the story of how modern comics came to be.

In this beautifully illustrated graphic memoir—illustrated by celebrated artist Colleen Doran—Lee tells the story of his life with the same inimitable wit, energy, and offbeat spirit that he brought to the world of comics. Moving from his impoverished childhood in Manhattan to his early days writing comics, through his military training films during World War II and the rise of the Marvel empire in the 1960s to the current resurgence in movies, Amazing Fantastic Incredible documents the life of a man and the legacy of an industry and career.

This funny, moving, and incredibly honest memoir is a must-have for collectors and fans of comic books and graphic novels of every age.” (Amazon description)

 

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life  by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Clarion Books 2017
Call Number: Fiction Sa1

“Friendships, family, grief, joy, rage, faith, doubt, poetry, and love—this complex and sensitive book has room for every aspect of growing up!”—Margarita Engle, Newbery Honor–Winning author of The Surrender Tree

“Sal used to know his place with his adoptive gay father, their loving Mexican American family, and his best friend, Samantha. But it’s senior year, and suddenly Sal is throwing punches, questioning everything, and realizing he no longer knows himself. If Sal’s not who he thought he was, who is he? This humor-infused, warmly humane look at universal questions of belonging is a triumph.” (Amazon description)

 

Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran
G.P. Putnam’s Sons 2017
Call Number: Fiction Se4

Lucky Boy presents two very different American stories, tied together by the fate of a child. When Soli Castro-Valdez leaves her small Mexican village for the United States, she endures the difficult journey but arrives pregnant and undocumented. Meanwhile, Kavya Reddy, whose parents immigrated to the US from India, is living a more peaceful life with her dot.com-employed husband in Berkeley. Unable to have a child, Kavya becomes a foster parent—and when Soli winds up in immigrant detention, her son Ignacio winds up with Kavya. But the story has just begun.” (Amazon review)

Botanical Reads for Spring

By - May 12th, 2017

The last traces of winter are finally behind us, and SPS is in full bloom! This month, you can grow your garden of knowledge through these plant-centered reads.

 

A comprehensive and visually appealing botanical compendium:

 

Plant: Exploring the Botanical World

Phaidon Press Editors

Phaidon Press 2016

704.9 C55P (shelved with the dictionaries on the main floor)

 

“Following in the footsteps of the international bestseller Map: Exploring the World, this fresh and visually stunning survey celebrates the extraordinary beauty and diversity of plants. It combines photographs and cutting-edge micrograph scans with watercolours, drawings, and prints to bring this universally popular and captivating subject vividly to life. Carefully selected by an international panel of experts and arranged in a uniquely structured sequence to highlight thought-provoking contrasts and similarities, this stunning compilation of botanically themed images includes iconic work by celebrated artists, photographers, scientists, and botanical illustrators, as well as rare and previously unpublished images.” (Amazon Description)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A practical guide to the plants around us:

 

Wildflowers of New England

Ted Elliman and the New England Wildflower Society

Timber Press 2016

582 EL5W

 

“Wildflowers of New England is for hikers, naturalists, gardeners, and anyone wishing to learn more about the region’s diverse wildflowers, or just wanting to know the answer to “What’s that plant?” Ted Elliman, a plant ecologist for the New England Wild Flower Society, describes and illustrates more than 1,000 species commonly found in all six New England states, including annuals, perennials, and biennials, both native and naturalized. This helpful field guide uses a logical and convenient identification key based on flower color, petal arrangement, and leaf characteristics. One thousand color photographs help to confirm that you’ve got the right plant. The introduction includes an explanation of plant parts and information on plant names.” (Amazon Description)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A look at gardens as literary inspiration:

 

The Writer’s Garden

Jackie Bennett

Frances Lincoln 2016

820.9 B43W

 

“Great things happen in gardens. No one can doubt the importance of the garden in Roald Dahl’s life as it was here where he worked, and here that he created James and the Giant Peach. And where would Jane Austen have been if she had never seen a ‘walk’, an ornamental lake, or a wilderness?

Gardens hold a special place in many author’s lives. For Beatrix Potter, Hill Top house was made possible by the new found freedom and wealth that a literary career can bring; for Sir Walter Scott, laying out his garden at Abbotsford was a way of distracting himself from mounting debts.

In this book of 18 gardens and 20 writers, the author examines how the poet, writer, novelist derived a creative spirit from their private garden, how they tended and enjoyed their gardens, and how they managed their outdoor space.” (Amazon Description)

Judging a Book by Its Cover

By - May 5th, 2017

In this month’s Judging a Book by Its Cover post, we highlight books from our new McNaughton Collection. The McNaughton Collection books are recently released books from the McNaughton® book leasing subscription service. If you are looking for your books to be fresh off the presses, sometimes even on the day of its release, come on over to the Baker Reading Room of Ohrstrom Library and have a look at the McNaughton Collection.

 

The Lost Book of the Grail by Charlie Lovett
Viking Feb. 2017
Call Number: McN L

“Charlie Lovett’s diverting The Lost Book of the Grail is a mystery, a history, a pleasure—and a treasure. Find yourself within its pages, and you find yourself remembering the virtues of books and book-making.”
Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked and After Alice

 

Close Enough to Touch by Colleen Oakley
Gallery Books March 2017
Call Number: McN O

“In Before I Go, Oakley address the oft-asked question: if you only had six months to live, what would you do? In her deft hands, what could easily turn maudlin becomes a funny and insightful journey with Daisy, and the love of her life, Jack. If you loved JoJo Moyes’ Me Before You, this book is for you.” (Catherine McKenzie, bestselling author of HIDDEN and FORGOTTEN)

 

Indelible by Adelia Saunders
Bloomsbury Jan. 2017
Call Number: McN S

“Magdalena has an unsettling gift. She sees the truth about people written on their skin–names, dates, details both banal and profound–and her only relief from the onslaught of information is to take off her glasses and let the world recede. Mercifully, her own skin is blank.”  (Amazon Description)

“Richly detailed and highly observant . . . Fans of David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas and Téa Obreht’s The Tiger’s Wife will love Saunders’ debut, which takes up the mantle of myth, history, and storytelling with beautiful, sure-footed prose.”- Kirkus Reviews

 

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See
Scribner March 2017
Call Number: McN S

“A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple. . . A powerful story about a family, separated by circumstances, culture, and distance, Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane paints an unforgettable portrait of a little known region and its people and celebrates the bond that connects mothers and daughters.” (Amazon Description)

Save

Save

Save

Next »