Judging a Book by Its Cover

By - May 5th, 2017

In this month’s Judging a Book by Its Cover post, we highlight books from our new McNaughton Collection. The McNaughton Collection books are recently released books from the McNaughton® book leasing subscription service. If you are looking for your books to be fresh off the presses, sometimes even on the day of its release, come on over to the Baker Reading Room of Ohrstrom Library and have a look at the McNaughton Collection.

 

The Lost Book of the Grail by Charlie Lovett
Viking Feb. 2017
Call Number: McN L

“Charlie Lovett’s diverting The Lost Book of the Grail is a mystery, a history, a pleasure—and a treasure. Find yourself within its pages, and you find yourself remembering the virtues of books and book-making.”
Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked and After Alice

 

Close Enough to Touch by Colleen Oakley
Gallery Books March 2017
Call Number: McN O

“In Before I Go, Oakley address the oft-asked question: if you only had six months to live, what would you do? In her deft hands, what could easily turn maudlin becomes a funny and insightful journey with Daisy, and the love of her life, Jack. If you loved JoJo Moyes’ Me Before You, this book is for you.” (Catherine McKenzie, bestselling author of HIDDEN and FORGOTTEN)

 

Indelible by Adelia Saunders
Bloomsbury Jan. 2017
Call Number: McN S

“Magdalena has an unsettling gift. She sees the truth about people written on their skin–names, dates, details both banal and profound–and her only relief from the onslaught of information is to take off her glasses and let the world recede. Mercifully, her own skin is blank.”  (Amazon Description)

“Richly detailed and highly observant . . . Fans of David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas and Téa Obreht’s The Tiger’s Wife will love Saunders’ debut, which takes up the mantle of myth, history, and storytelling with beautiful, sure-footed prose.”- Kirkus Reviews

 

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See
Scribner March 2017
Call Number: McN S

“A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple. . . A powerful story about a family, separated by circumstances, culture, and distance, Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane paints an unforgettable portrait of a little known region and its people and celebrates the bond that connects mothers and daughters.” (Amazon Description)

Save

Save

Save

Fun Fiction Reads with McNaughton

By - April 28th, 2017

When you’re looking for your next fiction book, be sure to stop by our new collection in the Baker Reading Room! The library now receives the latest popular fiction releases through McNaughton subscription services. Here are a few titles to check out on your next visit to Ohrstrom!

 

If you’re a fan of not-so-far-fetched sci-fi…

 

New York 2140, by Kim Stanley Robinson

Orbit 2017

MCN R

 

“A new vision of the future from Kim Stanley Robinson, the New York Times bestselling author of science fiction masterworks such as the Mars trilogy, 2312, and Aurora.

The waters rose, submerging New York City.

But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.

Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.

Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.

And how we too will change.” (Barnes & Noble Description)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re in the mood for an international and intergenerational tale…

 

The Last Days of Café Leila, by Donia Bijan

Algonquin 2017

MCN B

 

“Set against the backdrop of Iran’s rich, turbulent history, this exquisite debut novel is a powerful story of food, family, and a bittersweet homecoming. When we first meet Noor, she is living in San Francisco, missing her beloved father, Zod, in Iran. Now, dragging her stubborn teenage daughter, Lily, with her, she returns to Tehran and to Café Leila, the restaurant her family has been running for three generations. Iran may have changed, but Café Leila, still run by Zod, has stayed blessedly the same—it is a refuge of laughter and solace for its makeshift family of staff and regulars.

As Noor revisits her Persian childhood, she must rethink who she is—a mother, a daughter, a woman estranged from her marriage and from her life in California. And together, she and Lily get swept up in the beauty and brutality of Tehran.

Bijan’s vivid, layered story, at once tender and elegant, funny and sad, weaves together the complexities of history, domesticity, and loyalty and, best of all, transports readers to another culture, another time, and another emotional landscape.” (Publisher’s Website)

 

 

 

 

If you adore Hamilton, historical fiction and love stories…

 

Alex & Eliza, by Melissa De La Cruz

G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers 2017

MCN D

 

“1777. Albany, New York.
As battle cries of the American Revolution echo in the distance, servants flutter about preparing for one of New York society’s biggest events: the Schuylers’ grand ball. Descended from two of the oldest and most distinguished bloodlines in New York, the Schuylers are proud to be one of their fledgling country’s founding families, and even prouder still of their three daughters—Angelica, with her razor-sharp wit; Peggy, with her dazzling looks; and Eliza, whose beauty and charm rival those of both her sisters, though she’d rather be aiding the colonists’ cause than dressing up for some silly ball.
Still, Eliza can barely contain her excitement when she hears of the arrival of one Alexander Hamilton, a mysterious, rakish young colonel and General George Washington’s right-hand man. Though Alex has arrived as the bearer of bad news for the Schuylers, he can’t believe his luck—as an orphan, and a bastard one at that—to be in such esteemed company. And when Alex and Eliza meet that fateful night, so begins an epic love story that would forever change the course of American history.” (Publisher’s Website)

Save

Save

New Fiction Available

By - Systems Librarian April 19th, 2017

 

Come in and browse through our newest fiction collection courtesy of McNaughton book services – located on the shelves in Baker Reading Room. Using this service will provide an assortment of new fiction titles and will make them available more quickly than before, some on the same day they are released!

View in Instagram ⇒

Save

Save

Save