Contoocook River Park


The book, History of Concord, New Hampshire : from the original grant in seventeen hundred and twenty-five to the opening of the twentieth century, Volume II (pg. 563), published in 1903, describes the Contoocook River Park, shown in this photograph:

Forthwith the locality so beautiful and picturesque with its shady woods, quiet or plunging waters, and other charming features of river scenery, all hitherto but little heard of and as rarely visited, became a favorite park. By 1900 it had gained full recognition as a summer resort where thousands might daily enjoy its many recreative attractions in outings replete with health and delight.

According to the website (LINK):

For twenty cents in 1893, and up until the 1920’s, you could ride 14 miles on the trolley from downtown Concord to Penacook to enjoy free entertainment, fireworks, swimming, dancing at a large pavilion, boating, roller-skating, bowling, and even a steamboat ride up the Contoocook River. The park closed in 1925.


Browse similar entries using these tags:



Time Frame:



Date Created: ,


This item is part of:

Additional Information:

Click HERE for detailed copyright information about this item.

Ellsworth, G. W. 1916. "Contoocook River Park." St. Paul's School. Ohrstrom Library Digital Archives. Web. 21 July 2024.